Thursday, January 29, 2015

Law360  Names Labaton Sucharow "Class Action Group of the Year"

NEW YORK (January 29, 2015) - Labaton Sucharow LLP announced that the Firm has been recognized as a Practice Group of the Year by Law360 for distinction in class action litigation.

This is the Firm's second appearance on the "Class Action Group of the Year" ranking, being only one of two plaintiffs firms named on this defense firm-heavy list. The Firm's high-profile securities settlements with Fannie Mae, Hewlett-Packard, and Massey Energy are highlighted in the firm profile.

Partner Thomas A. Dubbs revisits the Firm's 2014 successes with Law360, noting that "the firm's diligent groundwork in defining stockholder damages is key to Labaton's success." 

"We spend a lot of time at the beginning of a case working on damages and to nail down exactly what they are, and which drops in a stock were caused by the alleged fraud and those that weren't," he said. "That solid damages position increases your credibility before the court in the crucial rounds of motions practice."

"2014 was an excellent year for the firm given the number of high profile cases that were brought to a conclusion," Dubbs said. "We expect that to continue, notwithstanding some peoples' perception of a slowdown in very large securities cases."

Labaton Sucharow's submission featured notable securities, antitrust, and derivative successes against companies such as Massey Energy, Fannie Mae, Hewlett-Packard, and Jos. A. Bank, as well as against major airlines involved in a massive global price-fixing scheme, among others.

Winning firms were chosen based on "the significance of the litigation wins or deals worked on; the size and complexity of the litigation wins or deals worked on; and the number of significant, large or complex deals the group worked on or lawsuits the group won." A team of Law360 editors chose a select group to honor as Practice Group of the Year for their accomplishments in litigation or deals between November 2013 and November 2014. 

The list was originally published on December 22, 2014.