Christopher D. Barraza



Christopher D. Barraza focuses on prosecuting complex securities fraud cases on behalf of institutional investor clients. As a member of the Firm's Case Development Group, he focuses on the identification, investigation, and development of potential actions to recover investment losses resulting from violations of the federal securities laws and various actions to vindicate shareholder rights in response to corporate and fiduciary misconduct.

Prior to joining Labaton Sucharow, Chris was an associate in the Products Liability and Mass Torts Group at Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, where he represented several Fortune 500 clients in high-profile product liability, complex commercial, and False Claims Act litigation. Chris has represented sophisticated clients in a wide variety of industries, including: pharmaceuticals, medical devices, consumer products, chemicals, oil and gas, nuclear power, aviation, materials science, and defense contracting. Chris has extensive experience litigating cases at the trial and appellate level in state and federal courts across the United States.

Chris earned his J.D., cum laude, from Georgetown University Law Center, where he contributed to the Georgetown International Environmental Law Journal, and completed an externship at the World Bank Inspection Panel. He received his B.S., cum laude, from Georgetown University. 

Chris is an active member of the American Bar Association’s International Law and Litigation Sections and recently was featured in its publication for his piece on Mass Torts Litigation. He also served as the Chair for the Environmental Law Committee under the New York County Law Association. In 2014 and 2015, Chris was recognized as a Rising Star in Products Liability.

Chris is fluent in Spanish and French.


Georgetown University Law Center
J.D., cum laude, 2006

Georgetown University
B.S., cum laude, 1999


2007, New York
2013, District of Columbia

U.S. Court of Appeals
2014, D.C. Circuit

U.S. District Court
2008, Southern District of New York
2009, Western District of Michigan
2013, District of Columbia